Post Script: TM Values and Ethical Behaviour


When I issued my recent post on Values and Ethical Behaviour I received some feedback that I was dealing with an important issue, but at a very cerebral level. The suggestion was – could I clarify what I was proposing people do with what I explored.

I accept that I approach the work I do from a conceptual thinking perspective (it’s my strength and curse). But I would like to respectfully try and respond to this helpful feedback:

What do I take out of this post (in terms of how to live)?

  1. Beliefs and attitudes are internal states. What we care about is how people behave. So the first actionable lesson is: Practice what you want in your obituary!
  2. Not all values are equal, there can be a hierarchy. This helps with tradeoff/conflict issues amongst them. Which one is the top one for me? Responsibility and its consequence side accountability. So, act responsibly and accept accountability.
  3. There will be times when values will conflict in specific choices. So the third lesson is develop and practice the artful skill of dealing with dilemmas.

I also had a surprise coming out of writing the aforementioned post. I did not expect to come to the conclusion that having a hierarchy of values was legitimate and useful. Also, I had never thought that if I had to select a priority value it would be responsibility.

I consider this a delightful outcome and exemplifies my BLOG nom de plume: 123stilllearning456.

Cheers.

About 123stilllearning456

As a management consultant I am passionately interested in talent management and risk/uncertainty issues. In the area of talent management I propose that we seek strategies that look beyond the staffing/employee centric frames of reference. I have been frustrated at the "closing down on possibilities" by these more conventional staffing/employee centric approaches. I have been impressed where people have found systematic solutions to their talent management issues by going beyond the conventional approaches. In the area of risk and uncertainty, I am interested in making this topic relevant to more normal decision making situations. My conceptual foundation is to use the micro-economist's fixed/variable cost theme. I also think it is important to look at these issues for people through their emotional and psychological lens. As a premise I think risk and uncertainty only exist where there is a person who cares about possible events and its consequences. Hence, risk and uncertainty are social based concepts (no sentience, no risk and uncertainty). A major influence on my thinking in this area is Nassim Taleb of "Black Swan" fame. This BLOG provides me with an opportunity to express my thoughts on topics that interest me. As this is an online diary, content is more important to me than polish. I apologize if this distracts from readers' enjoyment and learning. Still I find this a useful way to live up to my namesake, learn more from others and hopefully provoke creative thoughts and ideas in others.
This entry was posted in Talent Manangement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

